Skip to content

Prague Visit

August 22, 2011

I will be going to Prague in 19 days (eep!) on the 11th of September until the 13th of October. I need to get our apartment ready for the Buescher Family and also get certified to teach in the Czech Republic. I am also getting certified to teach English as a Second Language, in case I should want to get some extra employment besides my three days a week at Charles University. My classes run M-F from 10am until 3pm, so I’ll be quite busy. On the weekends, though, is another story.

I got my Eurail pass today. ::squee::

On my three free weekends, I’m going to get the hell out of dodge and see a bit of the continent!!!

Weekend Trip 1: Budapest, Hungary

What a gorgeous city on the Danube!

Might as well throw in a castle… Vajdahunyad Castle

The Arabic Baths are really the reason I’m going to Budapest. I frequented on in Grenada, Spain two years ago and I’m an addict.

Like its Roman predecessor a typical hammam consists of three basic, interconnected rooms: the sıcaklık (or hararet -caldarium), which is the hot room; the warm room (tepidarium), which is the intermediate room; and the soğukluk, which is the cool room (frigidarium).

The sıcaklık usually has a large dome decorated with small glass windows that create a half-light; it also contains a large marble stone called göbek taşı (tummy stone) at the center that the customers lie on, and niches with fountains in the corners. This room is for soaking up steam and getting scrub massages. The warm room is used for washing up with soap and water and the soğukluk is to relax, dress up, have a refreshing drink, sometimes tea, and, where available, a nap in a private cubicle after the massage.

Can you see why I would be addicted?

Second Weekend Trip: Vienna, Austria

Behold, Vienna.

Of course I have to visit Schonbrunn, the summer palace of Marie Antoinette’s childhood and Emperess Maria Teresa.

If I can’t catch a concert of the Vienna Boys’ Choir, I at least want to visit the Imperial Opera House.

Weekend Trip Three: Munich and Fussen

This trip, I have two extra days, as it is my last weekend in Europe. You know what that means, don’t you?

Yup. Oktoberfest.

Then I’m taking the Pilgrimage an hour south to Fussen and…

Neuschwanstein and Mad King Ludwig II.

Wish me luck!!! There’s so much left to do still!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sukanya Ramanujan permalink
    August 22, 2011 11:29 am

    All the best! Looks like you will have tons of fun!

  2. August 22, 2011 12:46 pm

    these images are gorgeous!

  3. August 22, 2011 1:09 pm

    I’m glad you’re covering the Habsburg Triplet : Prague, Budapest, and Vienna! Hope your month in Prague goes well!

Leave a Reply

