Skip to content

Things I Love: Tiny Cars

October 10, 2010

I love tiny cars. It’s likely from the time I’ve spent abroad, driving Citroens and Vauxhalls and Fiats. They’re just so amusing! They may not have much in the way of engine capabilities, but they’re so cute that I let that go.

There are some new tiny cars on the line-up for 2011 that I’m really excited about.

1. Aston Martin Cygnet

How cute is that? And at $33k you can have an Aston Martin. I see nothing better for a commuter vehicle.
Price: Around $33,000

 

2. The Mazda Mazda2

I love how styling is coming away from the bubble-edges of the imported cars we’ve been seeing for several years. Mazdas are peppy and comfortable to drive and I expect the Mazda2 will be similar, but in a cuter body.
Price: $14,730

 

3. Ford Fiesta

The Fiesta used to be what I laughed at and hoped I didn’t get at the rental company every time I was in the UK. Now, I love it. It’s been transformed from the ugly confetti-like upholstered monstrosity to a sleek, sexy automobile. Brava, Ford.
Price: Starts at $13,320

 

4. Honda CR-Z

Rice-burner fanatics and enthusiasts of the old CR-X will be delighted to have a new incarnation of their beloved mass-produced vehicle. Personally, I just think it looks awesome: great, low-slung chassis, bold front end and a throwback to the blunt back end of the CR-X.
Price: $23,300

 

5. Scion iQ

Small car fans have been growing bored of Scion in past years. The xB, or the Toaster, is outdated and its fad has passed and the tC hasn’t been updated in seven years. Enter the iQ, a tiny xD inspired two-door with the same pug nosed front end. It’s adorable, though, and I’d love to find out if it handles as well as the Scion we own.
Price: Around $13,000

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ivy permalink
    October 10, 2010 8:39 pm

    Those are FLAT

Leave a Reply

