Skip to content

Letting Go

September 27, 2010

Wow, two serious posts in a week. A record.

I love my house. I love the home that I have made of my house. I love the creaking stairs and the step down you have to take to get to the half bath under the stairs. I love that most of the doors don’t shut properly. I love the chandeliers, the nuances, my butler’s pantry and my bedroom-cum-closet-cum-craft room.

But the problem, so to speak, is my family. Paul and I have had our share of rough times- terribly times. Times that came to a head in this house and stick their ugly heads out of every room and around the corners.

As I write this, the big tree across the street is turning yellow and the leaves are gently fluttering down. I am also writing this with gloves on because it’s 55 degrees outside and I refuse to turn on the heat. The thermostat reads 60.

Point is, although I am mostly not religious (another post for another day), I need to take a deep breath and just let go and let God. I need to leave the house that I love obsessively because it is what will be good and healthy for my family. My sister’s friend Kelly wrote this blog post about letting go and I’m trying hard to use some of the same thoughts.

I console myself by searching realty sites for other homes that I think I could love just as much as the Harrison House.

mainphoto

 

Click Photo To Enlarge

 

mainphoto

 

mainphoto

 

mainphoto

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    September 27, 2010 4:34 pm

    Letting go really is hard, but amazing things happen when you do. To stop pushing your plan and listen for His plan for you has been my biggest challenge, and my biggest source od contentment. It isn’t easy but ultimately worth the struggle.

  2. September 27, 2010 10:36 pm

    it is hard to let go.
    but you can do it if you must…
    lovely images,

Leave a Reply

