Skip to content

On A More Serious Note

September 21, 2010

I rarely talk about anything serious on my blog- it’s just not the way I roll. But last night I had a really profound dream and I feel like I need to talk about it.

In my dream, Paul, the kids and I were playing in our back yard when a baby (a toddler, really- somewhere between Kat and Luca’s ages) was dropped off with a note asking us to care for her. It stirred such an emotion in me that it re-doubled my urge to be a foster parent. As I interacted this summer, as you all know, with women who had for one reason or another lost their children to the foster system, I realized what I need to do with my life.

I am not a maternal woman- anyone who knows me can attest. But what I do possess is boundless love. I don’t coo and fawn over my children- I set clear boundaries and push them to be the best them they can be. If my children ever remember anything about their toddler-hood, I hope that they remember that while I can be stricter than most parents, I always open their doors before I go to bed and watch them as they sleep and touch their little hands and stroke their hair and whisper ‘I love you’.

The thought of any child not recieving that kind of affection brings me to tears- at this very moment.

Here are some of the children here in Cincinnati that need us.

Justin, age 1

Braden, age 17

Daniel, age 10

Elizabeth, 8 mos.

Kylee, age 4

Danielle, age 7

Cincinnati and Hamilton County Foster and Adoption Services website.

Think about it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. andi permalink
    September 22, 2010 10:05 am

    you know.. the more i read your blog.. the more i want to start my own.

    its a thought.

Leave a Reply

