Skip to content

Where I Was…

September 11, 2010

I was in my first period econ/government class. My teacher always recorded the news in my class period to play for every other class of the day- we were avid news watchers. I think that’s a mid-western thing. My teacher had a habit of handing out gummi bears for 100% grades on quizzes. I was the recipient of a green gummi bear that morning nine years ago.

The news was usual news, I know that, but suddenly, it changed. I wasn’t paying a whole lot of attention. I only did when another teacher stuck her head inside the door and shouted for us to turn on the news, which we already had on. We snapped to attention.

I was chewing my gummi bear when the second plane hit the second tower.

Every television was on in every room of the school. I suppose they thought we were adult enough to see this in real time for ourselves. I’m grateful.

Where were you?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Inness permalink
    September 11, 2010 2:25 pm

    Math Class, no one was teaching. We had been watching in the class before too. But when the plane went into the second tower people started shouting and crying.

Leave a Reply

